Romance Rules Film Festival: Monthly results, April 2021/22

Romance Rules Film Festival celebrates all things romance – the good, the bad and the ugly! To find out more or to enter your film, see:

Romance Rules Film Festival

April results – official selections & finalists

Indie Comedy Film Festival

What the world needs now is more laugh – and what better way to provide then than through an online film festival of short comedy films.

Whilst Studio 138 will not be holding any live events at this time, we still want to bring entertainment from independent artists to Dubbo and around the world. That’s where the idea for an online comedy film festival came from.

Entries are currently open to filmmakers from around the world on FilmFreeway and close May 23, 2020.

The online film festival will be available online privately to ticket holders. The film festival will be screened online June 6 to 7, 2020 (Sydney, Australia time). Tickets will be $AUD5 (plus processing fee).

Audience members will have the opportunity to vote for their favourite film of the festival (one vote per ticket). The audience favourite award winner will receive $US40 and an certificate.

Romance Rules Film Festival 2020 – official selections

Romance Rules Film Festival

Part 1

Stood Up – Cjay Boisclair (Canada, 2019)

Kandy – Dubbo Filmmakers (Dubbo, 2014)

A Violent Noise – Natalie MacMahon (Germany, 2019)

Beat – Pascale Potvin (Canada, 2017)

Space – Erifili Davis & Kellie Jenner (Dubbo, 2017)

Hungry Millennials – Edward Fearon (Australia, 2019)

Petrichor – Cameron Moon (UK, 2019)


Part 2

Village Cafe – Alina Gerasimova (USA, 2019)

Turn It Around – Ingeborg Putter (Netherlands, 2017)

100% Girl – Chen Liangyu (Taiwan, 2019)

Backbeat – Martin Blank (USA, 2019)

Slides – Andres Padilla (USA, 2018)

Connection – Erifili Davis (Dubbo, 2018)

Maria – Robert Burns

Lit – Thia Schuessler (USA, 2019)

Audience Choice Award Winners

Congratulations to the teams behind the short films Petrichor and Stood Up, joint winners of our Romance Rules Film Festival Audience Choice award.

A big thank you to all the other filmmakers who contributed to a wonderful night of film.